VC·Lawyers®
Back to Blog

Own Occupation vs Any Occupation: The LTD Clause That Cuts Off Benefits at 24 Months

A small antique brass hourglass standing alone on a wide dark walnut tabletop, whole object visible with room above it
On this page

Around the two year mark of a long term disability claim, a letter arrives. It says your benefits are ending. Nothing about your health has improved. You still cannot go back to the job you had when you got sick or hurt. And yet the insurer has decided you no longer qualify. What changed is not your body. What changed is a single definition buried in your policy.

Almost every group long term disability (LTD) policy in Ontario contains two definitions of disability, one after the other. For roughly the first 24 months of benefits, you are covered if you cannot do your own occupation, meaning the job you actually held. After that, the policy switches to a harder test: whether you can do any occupation. Same illness, higher bar. This own occupation vs any occupation LTD switch is the single most common reason long term disability benefits stop, and it catches people at their most vulnerable, when they have been off work for two years and were counting on the coverage to continue.

Here is the short answer to the question this creates. The 24 month cut off is not automatic, and it is not the last word. The insurer still has to apply the any occupation test correctly. "Any occupation" does not mean any job at all. It means a real, gainful occupation that you are actually suited to and could realistically perform and hold given your condition, education, training, and experience. If the insurer gets that wrong, you can dispute the denial, and you can sue. But there is a hard deadline hiding inside all of this, a two year limitation period, and the internal appeal process the insurer offers you can quietly burn through it.

This guide explains, in plain language, what own occupation and any occupation mean, why so many claims are cut off at the 24 month switch, how courts read a total disability clause, how the two year deadline works and when it starts, and how to protect a claim before the clock runs out. The rules come from your policy, from the general law of insurance contracts, and from the Limitations Act, 2002, read alongside the leading cases of Sucharov in the Supreme Court of Canada and Kassburg and MacIvor in the Court of Appeal for Ontario. If your benefits have been cut off, or you have been warned they will be, it is worth talking early to a Toronto personal injury lawyer who handles disability claims, before you rely on an internal appeal to save the claim.

This article is general information about Ontario law, not legal advice.

Own occupation vs any occupation LTD: what actually changes at 24 months?

Your right to long term disability benefits does not come from a statute. It comes from a contract, either a group policy your employer arranged for its employees or a private policy you bought yourself. Because it is a contract, the wording of that policy controls, and the most important wording is the definition of "total disability" or "disability", because that is the thing you have to prove to keep getting paid.

Most policies define disability in two stages, and they switch from one to the other on a fixed date, commonly the 24 month anniversary of the day your LTD benefits began.

  • The own occupation period. For the first period of benefits, usually the first 24 months, you are considered disabled if your illness or injury prevents you from performing the essential duties of your own occupation. Your own occupation means the job you were actually doing when you became disabled, or a similar job, not some idealized version of it. If you were a nurse and you can no longer lift, stand, and work a nursing shift, you meet the test, even if you could sit at a desk and answer phones.
  • The any occupation period. After that first period ends, the definition changes. Now you are considered disabled only if your illness or injury prevents you from performing any occupation for which you are, or may reasonably become, qualified by your education, training, or experience. The question is no longer whether you can do your old job. It is whether you can do any suitable job at all.

That switch is deliberate, and it is written into the policy from the start. The insurer is not changing the rules on you. It is applying the rule that was always there. The problem is that most people never read the definition closely when they were healthy, and they learn about the any occupation test for the first time in a denial letter.

The table below sets the two definitions side by side.

Own occupation periodAny occupation period
When it appliesUsually the first 24 months of LTD benefits, after the elimination periodAfter the 24 month mark, potentially until age 65
The core testCan you perform the essential duties of your own occupation, the job you held when you became disabled?Can you perform the duties of any occupation you are reasonably suited to by education, training, or experience?
Measured againstOne specific jobA range of possible jobs
How hard it is to meetLower barHigher bar
Earnings elementUsually none, or tied only to your own jobMany policies add an earnings test, often being unable to earn roughly 60 to 70 percent of your pre disability income
What usually happensMost claims are approvedMost disputes and cut offs happen here

One caution before we go further. Every policy is worded differently. Some use "regular occupation" instead of "own occupation". Some set the switch at a point other than 24 months. Some define the any occupation test with an earnings percentage and some do not. The only way to know your test is to read your own policy, and specifically the definition of disability and the "change in definition" clause. When in doubt, have a lawyer read it with you.

Why does the 24 month switch cut so many people off?

The 24 month switch is where long term disability claims go to die, and our Toronto long term disability lawyers know the reasons are structural, not just medical.

The first reason is simply that the bar goes up. In the own occupation period you only had to show you could not do one job, your job. In the any occupation period you have to show you cannot do any job you are reasonably suited to. That is a much wider net, and it is easier for an insurer to argue that somewhere in that net there is a job you could do.

The second reason is that the switch gives the insurer a natural moment to reassess the file. As the 24 month date approaches, many insurers order updated medical information, send you to an independent medical examination, or ask for a functional capacity evaluation. They are building a record to apply the new test. This is often when a claim that was quietly paying for two years suddenly comes under intense scrutiny. For more on those examinations and your rights around them, see our guide on independent medical examinations in Ontario.

The third reason is the way insurers use "transferable skills" and labour market assessments. To deny under the any occupation test, an insurer will often commission a report that identifies jobs it says you could do given your background. These reports frequently list occupations in the abstract, sedentary or light duty roles, without grappling with whether you could actually get hired, actually perform the work day after day, and actually hold the job given your real limitations. A denial built on a theoretical job you could never realistically obtain or sustain is exactly the kind of denial that gets challenged.

The fourth reason is timing and money. Two years of benefits is a meaningful cost to an insurer, and the any occupation switch is the built in checkpoint where it can lawfully re examine whether the cost should continue. None of that makes a cut off correct. It just explains why the 24 month mark is the danger zone, and why you should never treat the switch as a formality. If you are approaching it, that is the moment to get your medical evidence in order and to get advice, not after the denial letter comes.

Own occupation vs any occupation: the definition switch that ends most LTD claims

It helps to see the whole arc of a claim, because the own occupation and any occupation definitions sit inside a longer sequence of stages, and each stage has its own test. The table below shows a typical group LTD timeline. Treat it as a general map, not as your policy. Your actual dates and percentages come from your own plan.

StageTypical timingWhat you generally have to show
Short term disability or sick leaveThe first weeks after you stop workingYou cannot work because of illness or injury, if your plan includes short term coverage
Elimination period, also called the qualifying or waiting periodCommonly 90 to 180 days, often around 17 weeksYou stay continuously disabled through this whole period before LTD starts to pay
Own occupation LTDUsually the first 24 months of LTD paymentsYou cannot perform the essential duties of your own occupation
Any occupation LTDAfter the 24 month mark, potentially to age 65You cannot perform any occupation you are reasonably suited to by education, training, or experience

A few features of this structure matter for the own occupation vs any occupation fight.

  • Benefits usually replace only part of your income. Group LTD commonly pays somewhere in the range of 60 to 70 percent of your pre disability earnings, often up to a monthly maximum. It is not full pay. That is why a cut off at 24 months is financially devastating: people have already been living on reduced income for two years.
  • LTD is often taxable or not, depending on who paid the premiums. If your employer paid the premiums, your benefit is usually taxable. If you paid them yourself with after tax dollars, the benefit is usually tax free. This does not change the disability test, but it changes what the money is actually worth to you.
  • Other income is usually offset. Most policies reduce your LTD by other income you receive for the same disability, most commonly a Canada Pension Plan disability benefit. We come back to that below.
  • The switch date is fixed in the contract. The change from own occupation to any occupation happens on the date the policy sets, regardless of how you are feeling. What is not fixed is the outcome. Reaching the switch date does not mean you fail the new test. It means the insurer now measures you against it.

How do courts read total disability and the any occupation test?

Because disability benefits turn on the meaning of words in a contract, the courts have developed a settled way of reading them. Three principles matter most, and they generally work in favour of the insured.

You do not have to be helpless to be totally disabled

The leading case is Paul Revere Life Insurance Co. v. Sucharov, 1983 CanLII 168 (SCC), a decision of the Supreme Court of Canada. Mr. Sucharov ran his own insurance brokerage. His health problems meant he could not carry on that business without endangering himself. The insurer argued he was not "totally disabled" because he was not utterly incapable of every activity.

The Supreme Court rejected that. It confirmed that total disability does not mean absolute helplessness. A person is totally disabled from an occupation when they cannot perform substantially all of the duties of that occupation. Just as importantly, the Court accepted the long standing "common care and prudence" principle: an insured is not required to engage in work that a person of common care and prudence would not undertake because it would risk or aggravate their health. In plain terms, you do not have to work yourself into a hospital bed to prove you are disabled, and a job you could only do by damaging your health is not a job the policy expects you to take.

Sucharov was decided on an own occupation style clause, but its logic reaches further. It tells us that disability language is read realistically and humanely, measured against what you can actually and safely do, not against a theoretical maximum effort.

Any occupation means a real, suitable, gainful job

When the definition switches to any occupation, the words the policy uses almost always tie the test to occupations you are reasonably suited to by your education, training, and experience. That phrase does real work. It means the insurer cannot simply point to the existence of some job somewhere and cut you off. The occupation has to be one you are genuinely qualified for, one you could realistically obtain, and one you could actually perform and keep given your limitations. Many policies go further and require that the occupation be gainful, meaning it would pay you a defined share of your former income, commonly in the range of 60 to 70 percent.

Ontario courts and disability tribunals have applied that kind of language in the insured's favour on many occasions, treating "any occupation" as any suitable and gainful occupation rather than any conceivable job. We are being deliberately careful here not to hang that proposition on a single headline case, because the point is better understood as the ordinary product of two settled rules: the realistic reading of disability from Sucharov, and the interpretive principle described next.

Genuine ambiguity is read against the insurer

Insurance policies are drafted by insurers, not by the people they cover. The law has long held that where a coverage provision is genuinely ambiguous, and the ordinary rules of interpretation do not resolve it, the ambiguity is read against the party that wrote it, the insurer. This principle, often called contra proferentem, is a backstop, not a first resort. Courts first try to read the policy as a whole, in a way that gives effect to the reasonable expectations of the parties. But when two readings are truly open, the tie goes to coverage. That is a large part of why the any occupation test is not the free pass to deny that insurers sometimes treat it as.

Put the three principles together and the picture is this. To cut you off under the any occupation clause, the insurer has to show that there is a real occupation, suitable to your background, that you could actually perform and hold without risking your health, and if the policy requires it, one that would be gainful. That is a real burden, and it is often not met by a paper based labour market report.

Illustrative examples: how the 24 month switch plays out

The following are illustrations only. They are not real clients, and they are not predictions about any particular case. They exist to show how the own occupation and any occupation tests, and the deadline that comes with them, work with different facts.

The nurse with a back injury (a wrongful any occupation denial). Fatima was a hospital nurse until a serious back injury left her unable to lift, bend, stand, or work a full shift. For 24 months her LTD insurer paid, because she plainly could not do her own occupation. As the switch approached, the insurer sent her for an assessment and then commissioned a labour market report that listed sedentary jobs, a medical office scheduler, a call centre agent, a records clerk. It cut her off, saying she could do any of those occupations. The problem is that the report never grappled with her real limitations: she cannot sit for more than 20 minutes, she is on medication that clouds her focus, and no employer has offered her any of those jobs. A denial built on theoretical jobs she could not actually obtain or sustain is exactly the kind of decision that gets overturned, and Fatima can dispute it.

The electrician with chronic pain (the health risk point). Devon was a self employed electrician. After a fall he developed chronic pain that flares badly if he climbs, kneels, or carries. The insurer argued that he could return to lighter work and cut him off at 24 months. But under the reasoning in Sucharov, Devon is not required to take on work that a person of common care and prudence would avoid because it would worsen his condition. If the "suitable" jobs the insurer identifies would predictably flare his pain and set back his recovery, they are not jobs the any occupation clause fairly expects him to perform. The medical evidence about what work would do to his health becomes central.

The office worker with depression (an invisible illness under the any occupation test). Priya worked in accounts payable until major depression and anxiety made it impossible to concentrate, meet deadlines, or tolerate a workplace. Her own occupation claim was accepted. At the 24 month switch, the insurer said that because her condition is not "physical", she could do any number of desk jobs. Mental illness qualifies for LTD just as physical illness does, and the any occupation test still has to reckon with her real cognitive and functional limitations, not a checklist of sit down jobs. Because her impairments are invisible, the strength of her file depends on consistent treatment records and functional evidence, the same challenge we describe in our guide to proving chronic pain and invisible injuries.

The claimant who trusted the appeal process (a limitation trap). Marcus was cut off at the 24 month switch. The letter invited him to appeal internally and submit more medical information. He did, twice, over the next year and a half, and each time the insurer reviewed and again refused. By the time Marcus spoke to a lawyer, more than two years had passed since the clear denial. The insurer now argued his lawsuit was out of time. As we explain below, an internal appeal does not, on its own, stop the two year limitation clock. Marcus may still have arguments about when his claim was truly and finally denied, but he put himself in a far weaker position by treating the appeal as a substitute for protecting the deadline.

What you can still do, even if you have been cut off

A denial letter at the 24 month switch feels final. It is written to feel final. It is not.

  • Even if the insurer says you can do "any occupation", you can dispute that. The insurer has to show a real, suitable, gainful job you could actually perform and hold. A denial resting on theoretical jobs from a paper report is challengeable.
  • Even if your illness is invisible, such as chronic pain, depression, anxiety, or the effects of a concussion, it can support an LTD claim. The any occupation test does not require a broken bone. It requires functional inability, and that can be proven with the right medical and functional evidence.
  • Even if you have already been paid for two years and assumed the file was settled, the switch is just a checkpoint. Continuing to qualify under the any occupation test keeps your benefits alive, potentially for years.
  • Even if you were denied some time ago, you may not be out of time. As the MacIvor case shows, the two year clock runs from when you knew or ought to have known you had a claim, and courts can grant relief in the right circumstances. Do not assume the door is closed without having a lawyer check.
  • Even if the insurer offers a lump sum buyout, you do not have to accept it, and an early offer is often worth far less than the future stream of benefits it is meant to replace. Before you sign anything, read our guide on whether to accept an insurer's first offer.

The most common and costly mistake is not fighting a wrong denial. It is assuming the letter is correct and walking away.

How is LTD different from accident benefits and CPP disability?

People often blur three different systems together. They are separate, they have separate rules, and mixing them up leads to missed deadlines and lost money.

Long term disability is a private contract claim. It is not the auto insurance accident benefits system. If you were hurt in a car crash, you may have a separate statutory accident benefits claim under Ontario's no fault auto scheme, with its own forms, its own benefit categories, and its own deadlines. Those auto benefit amounts and rules have nothing to do with your LTD policy, and none of the auto dollar figures apply to an LTD claim. The two can run side by side, but they are governed by completely different rules. Do not let an insurer or anyone else tell you that an accident benefits outcome decides your LTD claim, or the reverse.

Long term disability is also different from the Canada Pension Plan disability benefit, though the two interact. CPP disability is a federal government benefit with its own, stricter test, and most LTD policies reduce what they pay by the amount of any CPP disability benefit you receive. The comparison table sets out the difference.

Long term disability (LTD)CPP disability benefit
Who provides itA private insurer, usually through an employer group plan or a policy you boughtThe federal government, under the Canada Pension Plan
The testOwn occupation, then any occupation, as your specific policy defines themA disability that is both severe and prolonged, meaning you regularly cannot do any substantially gainful work and it is long continued and of indefinite duration
Typical amountOften about 60 to 70 percent of pre disability income, up to a monthly capA set federal amount, unrelated to your former salary
How they interactUsually reduced by any CPP disability you receive for the same disabilityPaid separately, but commonly offset against your LTD
Deadline to challengeA two year limitation to sue, from a clear denialIts own reconsideration and appeal timelines

The practical takeaway: qualifying for one does not guarantee the other, because the tests differ, but many claimants are eligible for both, and applying for CPP disability is often expected under the LTD policy. Sort out how they fit together early, ideally with advice, so an offset does not surprise you and a deadline does not slip.

What is the deadline to sue an LTD insurer, and when does it start?

This is the part of an LTD claim that quietly destroys otherwise strong cases, so read it carefully.

In Ontario, the basic limitation period to start a lawsuit is two years, under section 4 of the Limitations Act, 2002. For an LTD claim, that means you generally have two years to sue your insurer for wrongfully denying or terminating your benefits. Miss it, and the claim can be barred no matter how strong it was on the merits.

The hard questions are when the clock starts and whether the policy can shorten it. Two decisions of the Court of Appeal for Ontario answer them.

The clock starts at a clear and unequivocal denial

In Kassburg v. Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada, 2014 ONCA 922, the Court of Appeal held that the two year period for an LTD claim runs from the point at which the insurer clearly and unequivocally denies the claim, not from some earlier, softer communication. In that case, an early letter had signalled a problem, but the period ran from the later letter that finally and clearly declined the claim. The lesson is that a wishy washy "we are still reviewing" or "we may reconsider with more information" is not necessarily the clear denial that starts the clock, while a definite refusal is.

That cuts both ways. It can give you more time than you feared if the insurer never clearly denied you. But once a clear and unequivocal denial lands, the two years is running, and you cannot rely on the hope that it was not clear enough.

A group policy cannot give you less than two years

Kassburg decided a second, powerful point. The insurer had pointed to a one year limitation period written into the group policy. The Court of Appeal held that a group LTD policy of that kind is not a "business agreement" within the exception in the Limitations Act, so the parties could not contract out of the statutory two year period. The one year contractual limit was unenforceable, and the two year statutory period applied. If your denial letter tells you that you have only one year, or some other short window, to sue, do not take that at face value. It may not be enforceable, but you should get advice rather than guessing.

Discoverability can move the start date, as MacIvor shows

In MacIvor v. Pitney Bowes Inc., 2018 ONCA 381, the Court of Appeal dealt with a claimant whose disabling condition, a traumatic brain injury, was not understood to be permanent and disabling until well after he had left his employment. The Court applied the discoverability principle from section 5 of the Limitations Act: the clock does not start until you know, or a reasonable person in your position ought to know, that you have a claim worth pursuing. It also declined to enforce a one year policy limitation and granted relief from forfeiture to excuse a late proof of claim, and it recognized that entitlement can turn on when the disability actually arose rather than on your job title at the moment you applied. The broad lesson is encouraging: a claim you assume is dead because too much time has passed may not be, and the exact start date of your limitation period is a legal question worth having a lawyer analyze.

The trap: internal appeals do not stop the clock

Here is the mistake that sinks claims. When an insurer denies you, it almost always invites you to appeal internally and send more information. That internal appeal process feels like the responsible next step, and it is often worth pursuing on its own terms. But an internal appeal does not, on its own, stop or extend the two year limitation period. You can spend a year or more submitting reports and getting refused again, and all the while the clock from the original clear denial keeps running. Many people discover, too late, that the appeal they trusted quietly consumed their deadline.

The table below pulls the deadline rules together.

QuestionWhat the law says
How long do I have to sue?Two years, under section 4 of the Limitations Act, 2002
When does the clock start?When your claim is clearly and unequivocally denied and you know, or ought to know, you have a claim (discoverability, section 5)
Can my policy give me less than two years?For a group LTD policy of the kind in Kassburg, no. The Court of Appeal held a one year contractual limit unenforceable
Does an internal appeal stop the clock?Generally no. Appealing to the insurer does not, on its own, extend the two year period
What if I only recently learned how serious my condition is?Discoverability may move the start date later, as in MacIvor. Get advice; do not assume you are out of time

The safe approach is simple to state. Treat the date of the clear denial letter as the start of a two year countdown. Pursue an internal appeal if it makes sense, but never let it lull you into missing the deadline. And get legal advice well before the two years is up, not in the final weeks.

How to protect your LTD claim before and after the 24 month switch

You cannot change the definition in your policy. You can control the evidence and the timing, which is where most claims are won or lost. If you are on LTD, or you have been denied, the following steps matter.

  • Read your policy, especially the definition of disability and the change in definition clause. Find your switch date and your any occupation wording. If you cannot get a copy, ask your employer's human resources department or the insurer in writing. A lawyer can request and interpret it for you.
  • Build your medical file for the any occupation test, not just your old job. As the 24 month mark nears, your treating doctors should be documenting your functional limitations in general terms, what you cannot do in any work setting, not only why you cannot return to your specific job. Objective and functional evidence, including a functional capacity evaluation where appropriate, is what answers a labour market report.
  • Keep treating and follow through on recommendations. Gaps in treatment and unfilled recommendations are the first things an insurer points to. Consistent care both helps you and strengthens the file.
  • Get every denial in writing and note the date. The date of a clear and unequivocal denial is the date your two year clock starts. Keep the letter. Do not rely on a phone call or a vague message.
  • Do not treat the internal appeal as your deadline protection. Appeal if it helps, but calendar the two year limitation from the clear denial and act well before it, because the appeal does not stop the clock.
  • Be careful with surveillance and social media. Insurers routinely watch LTD claimants, in person and online, looking for anything that seems inconsistent with your reported limitations. A single out of context photo can be used against you. Our guide on insurance surveillance and social media explains how this works.
  • Do not give up income evidence or sign a buyout without advice. A lump sum offer to close the file can look attractive when money is tight, but it may be a fraction of the future benefits it replaces. Get it valued before you sign.
  • Get advice early, ideally before the switch. The strongest time to involve a lawyer is before the 24 month cut off, when the file can still be shaped, not after a denial has hardened and the clock is nearly up.

How VC Lawyers can help

Long term disability claims are won on two things: the medical and functional evidence that answers the exact test in your policy, and strict control of the two year deadline that the internal appeal process can quietly erode. Both are easy to get wrong alone, and insurers know it. At VC Lawyers, we read your policy and pin down your real test and your switch date, we build the medical and functional evidence that meets the any occupation standard rather than just describing your old job, and we treat the date of any clear denial as a hard countdown so the limitation period never slips. If the insurer has relied on a theoretical labour market report, a short contractual limitation clause, or the argument that your invisible illness is not disabling, those are arguments we challenge directly, and if a fair settlement is not on offer, we sue.

We work on a contingency fee basis for personal injury clients, which means no fees unless we recover for you, and the first consultation is free. If your LTD benefits have been cut off at the 24 month switch, or you have been warned they will be, talk to us before you rely on an internal appeal or sign anything. Contact VC Lawyers for a free consultation with a Toronto personal injury lawyer.

This article is general information about Ontario law. It is not legal advice, and reading it does not create a lawyer and client relationship. Every claim turns on its own facts, its own medical evidence, and the exact wording of your policy, and the law and figures change over time. For advice about your situation, speak with a lawyer.

Key terms explained

  • Long term disability (LTD). Income replacement benefits paid by a private insurer, usually through an employer group plan or a policy you bought, when illness or injury keeps you from working over the long term. It is a contract claim, not a government or auto insurance benefit.
  • Own occupation. The job you were actually performing when you became disabled. During the own occupation period, you qualify if you cannot perform the essential duties of that job.
  • Any occupation. After the switch, the harder test. You qualify only if you cannot perform any occupation you are reasonably suited to by your education, training, or experience, and, in many policies, one that would be gainful.
  • Total disability. The condition the policy requires you to prove. As Sucharov confirms, it does not mean helplessness. It means being unable to perform substantially all the duties of the relevant occupation.
  • Own occupation period and any occupation period. The two stages of most LTD policies. The switch commonly happens at the 24 month mark of benefits.
  • Elimination period. Also called the qualifying or waiting period. The stretch of continuous disability, commonly 90 to 180 days, that must pass before LTD payments begin.
  • Pre disability earnings. What you earned before you became disabled. LTD commonly replaces about 60 to 70 percent of it, and the any occupation earnings test is often measured against it.
  • Offset or deduction. Amounts, most often a Canada Pension Plan disability benefit, that the policy subtracts from your LTD payment because you receive them for the same disability.
  • Clear and unequivocal denial. A definite refusal of your claim. Under Kassburg, this is what starts the two year limitation clock, not a vague or tentative communication.
  • Discoverability. The rule in section 5 of the Limitations Act that the two year clock starts when you knew, or ought to have known, you had a claim, which as MacIvor shows can be later than you assume.
  • Relief from forfeiture. A court's power to excuse a technical default, such as a late proof of claim, so a claimant does not lose coverage over a procedural slip. It was granted in MacIvor.
  • Contra proferentem. The interpretive principle that a genuinely ambiguous policy term is read against the insurer who drafted it. It is a backstop the courts use when other rules do not resolve the ambiguity.

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

  • What is the difference between own occupation and any occupation in an LTD policy?
    Own occupation asks whether you can do the job you actually held when you became disabled. Any occupation asks whether you can do any job you are reasonably suited to by your education, training, and experience. Most policies use the own occupation test for the first period of benefits, commonly 24 months, then switch to the harder any occupation test.
  • Why do LTD benefits often stop at 24 months?
    Because that is when many policies switch from the own occupation test to the any occupation test, and the bar to qualify goes up. The switch also gives the insurer a built in point to reassess your file, order examinations, and commission a labour market report. It is the most common moment for a cut off, but the cut off is not automatic and can be challenged.
  • Does any occupation mean I have to take any job at all?
    No. The occupation has to be one you are genuinely suited to by your background, one you could realistically obtain, and one you could actually perform and keep given your limitations. In many policies it must also be gainful, meaning it would pay a defined share of your former income. A theoretical job you could never actually get or sustain does not count.
  • Is the 24 month cut off automatic?
    No. Reaching the switch date does not end your benefits by itself. It means the insurer now measures you against the any occupation test. If you still cannot perform any suitable, gainful occupation, you continue to qualify. The insurer has to justify a cut off, and a poorly supported denial can be overturned.
  • Can the insurer cut me off just because I could earn less than before?
    It depends on your policy. Many any occupation clauses include an earnings component, often defining a suitable occupation as one that would pay you around 60 to 70 percent of your pre disability income. If the only work you could do would pay far less than that threshold, you may still qualify. Read the exact wording, because policies differ.
  • What is the deadline to sue my LTD insurer in Ontario?
    The basic limitation period is two years, under section 4 of the Limitations Act, 2002. If you miss it, your claim can be barred regardless of its merits. The harder questions are when the two years starts and whether the policy can shorten it, which the courts have addressed in Kassburg and MacIvor.
  • When does the two year limitation period start?
    It generally starts when the insurer clearly and unequivocally denies your claim and you know, or ought to know, you have a claim. That is the rule from Kassburg. A vague or tentative message may not start the clock, but a definite refusal does, so treat any clear denial letter as the beginning of a two year countdown.
  • Can my policy give me less than two years to sue?
    For a group LTD policy of the kind considered in Kassburg, no. The Court of Appeal held that such a policy is not a business agreement under the Limitations Act, so the parties cannot contract out of the two year period, and a one year contractual limit was unenforceable. If your letter says you have only one year, get advice rather than assuming it is correct.
  • Do internal appeals stop the limitation clock?
    Generally no. Appealing to the insurer, and submitting more medical information, does not on its own stop or extend the two year period. Many claims are lost because people trusted the appeal process while the deadline quietly ran out. Pursue an appeal if it helps, but calendar the two year limitation and act well before it.
  • I was cut off years ago and only now realize how disabled I am. Am I too late?
    Maybe not. In MacIvor, the Court of Appeal applied the discoverability rule, so the clock ran from when the claimant knew or ought to have known the true nature of the disability, and it granted relief to allow the claim. Whether you are out of time is a legal question that turns on your facts. Do not assume the door is closed without having a lawyer analyze it.
  • Is LTD the same as accident benefits after a car accident?
    No. LTD is a private contract claim. Accident benefits are part of Ontario's no fault auto insurance system, with different forms, benefits, and deadlines. If you were hurt in a crash you might have both, running side by side under completely different rules. None of the auto benefit dollar figures apply to an LTD claim.
  • Does mental illness qualify for LTD under the any occupation test?
    Yes. Depression, anxiety, post traumatic stress, and similar conditions can support an LTD claim just as physical conditions do. The any occupation test still has to reckon with your real cognitive and functional limitations. Because these impairments are invisible, consistent treatment records and functional evidence are especially important.
  • Will CPP disability affect my LTD?
    Usually yes. Most LTD policies reduce your benefit by the amount of any Canada Pension Plan disability benefit you receive for the same disability, and many policies expect you to apply for it. The two have different tests, so qualifying for one does not guarantee the other, but many claimants receive both, with the CPP amount offset against the LTD.
  • What evidence helps me pass the any occupation test?
    Medical and functional evidence that describes what you cannot do in any work setting, not just why you cannot return to your old job. That can include detailed reports from treating doctors, a functional capacity evaluation, and consistent records of ongoing treatment. Evidence that a suggested job would risk your health is also powerful, given the reasoning in Sucharov.
  • Should I appeal internally or sue?
    Sometimes both, in the right order, but an internal appeal is not a substitute for protecting your deadline. Because the appeal does not stop the two year clock, the safest course is to get legal advice quickly after a denial so you can decide whether to appeal, sue, or both, without letting the limitation period slip.
  • How much does it cost to hire a lawyer for an LTD claim?
    Many disability and personal injury lawyers in Ontario work on a contingency fee, meaning you pay legal fees only if the claim recovers money for you, and the first consultation is generally free. That lets someone whose income has been cut off get advice and representation without paying up front. Ask any lawyer to explain their fee, and note that HST at 13 percent applies to legal fees in Ontario. ---
Jae Hyon Cho

About the author

Jae Hyon Cho

Personal Injury Lawyer | Founding Partner

Jae Cho is a Founding Partner of Vaturi & Cho LLP, where he leads the firm's personal injury and civil litigation practice. He represents injured accident victims and their families across the Greater Toronto Area in both English and Korean, and reaches millions through his Korean-language legal education channels.

View full profile

Get in touch

Looking for legal help? Speak directly with a lawyer

Tell us what happened and a lawyer will personally review your case. Personal injury consultations are free and there are no fees unless we win. For all other practice areas, a consultation fee applies.

  • $30M+ recovered for injury clients
  • Phone line answered 24/7
  • Service in English, Korean, and 6+ more languages

Prefer to call? (416) 661-4529

Related Resources